Thank you for taking the interest to learn more about me!

Background:

I grew up in Beijing, where I attended first public school and later an international high school. I have a younger sister, a younger brother, and a three-legged dog.

I went to London for my undergraduate studies in mathematics. After completing my Bachelor's degree, I worked in the financial industry in London.

I had learned a lot working as a data scientist for a quantitative fund; however, I felt pursuing academic endeavours was a path closer to my heart.

So After 1 year in industry, I decided to take a gap year and then return to school. During the gap year, I spent some time traveling, completed yoga teacher training, and did an internship in Shanghai to stay closer to my parents.

Interests:

Outside of school, I enjoy hiking, tennis, yoga, volleyball, reading, and piano.

During my undergraduate degree, I was the social representative for the hiking society, and completed many challenges such as a 40-mile navigation challenge which took 17 hours in total.

Volunteering:

Volunteering has always been an important part of my life.

I am inspired by people like my stepmother, who is a devoted social worker and runs a successful non-profit environmental organisation in China. Thanks to her, I had discovered the joys of volunteering.

I spent many summer breaks volunteering, including: a leading environmental non-profit organisation in China, a rice farm in Taiwan, an organic goat's chesse farm in France, a mountain school in Nepal.

In the future, I hope to continue my volunteering endeavours, and contribute to making our world a better place.